Skip to Content

The Institute for Medicine and Public Health

Center for Biomedical Ethics and Society

Home > CBMES > Who We Are - Affiliated Faculty

Who We Are - Affiliated Faculty


Victor Anderson, PhD
Professor of Christian Ethics, Director of the Program in 
African American and Diaspora Studies & Research Center

Gordon Bernard, MD
Melinda Owen Bass Professor of Pulmonary Medicine
Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Sciences
Director, Vanderbilt Institute for Clinical and Translational Research (VICTR)

Michel Bess, PhD
Chancellor´s Professor of History, History Department

W. Barton Campbell, MD, FACC
Professor of Medicine/Cardiology
Vanderbilt Heart and Vascular Institute

Roger Chalkley, PhD
Senior Associate Dean Biomedical Research Education & Training

William B. Cutrer, MD
Assistant Professor
Pediatric Critical Care, Division of

Charlene M. Dewey, MD, M.Ed.
Co-director of the Center for Professional Health
Chair of the Faculty and Physician Wellness Committee
Director, Educator Development Program

Sabrina Downs, MSN, MBA, RN, NE-BC
Director, Nursing Professional Practice & Magnet Recognition
Executive Nursing Administration/Office of the Vice Chancellor
for Health Affairs

Marilyn Dubree, RN, MSN, NE-BC
Executive Chief Nursing Officer
Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs / Dean, SOM

Brian C. Drolet, MD
Assistant Professor of Plastic Surgery and
Biomedical Informatics

Quentin, Eichbaum, MD, PhD,MPH, MFA, FCAP
Assistant Dean for Program Development
Associate Director of Transfusion Medicine
Director, Transfusion Medicine Fellowship Program
Associate Professor of Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology

Roy Elam, MD
Medical Director and Associate Professor Medicine of Center
for Integrative Health

Sheryl Brynne Fleisch, MD
Asistant Professor of Psychiatry
Adult Psychiatry Consultation Service

Geoffrey M. Fleming, MD
Assistant Professor
Program Director, Pediatric Critical Care Fellowship
Division of Pediatric Critical Care
Department of Pediatrics

Debra Friedman, MD, MS
E. Bronson Ingram Chair of Pediatric Oncology
Associate Professor of Pediatrics 
Director, Pediatric Hematology-Oncology
Medical Director REACH for Survivorship Program Leader
Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center Cancer Control and
Prevention Program

Sam Gannon, MA, MCRP, EdD
Education and Training Manager
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Keith, W. Hagan, MD
Associate Professor of Urology
Faculty Vanderbilt Program Inter-professional Learning

Douglas Hanto, MD, PhD
Director, Vanderbilt Transplant Center
Chief, Pediatric Liver Transplant

Frank E. Harrell, Jr., PhD
Professor and Chairman
Department of Biostatistics
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

Stephan Heckers, MD, MSc
William P. and Henry B. Test Professor
Chair, Department of Psychiatry
Psychiatrist-in-Chief, Vanderbilt Psychiatric Hospital

Douglas Heimburger, MD, MS
Vanderbilt Institute for Global Health
Associate Director, Education and Training
Professor of Medicine

Douglas Hester, MD
Associate Professor
Department of Anesthesiology, Multi-Specialty Division

Gerald Hickson, MD
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
Director, Center for Patient & Professional Advocacy
Director, VUMC Clinical Risk & Loss Prevention
Center for Patient & Professional Advocacy 

Ichikawa Iekuni, MD
Professor Pediatrics & Medicine
Pediatric Nephrology

Mohana B. Karlekar, MD, FACP
Medical Director Palliative Care

Seth J. Karp, MD
Professor of Surgery
H. William Scott Jr. Chair 
Chairman, Department of Surgery

John Lachs, PhD
Centennial Professor
Philosophy Department

Lewis Lefkowitz, Jr., MD
Professor of Preventive Medicine, Emeritus
Emeritus Medical Faculty Office

Kim Lomis, MD
Associate Dean of Undergraduate Medical Education
Medical Student Affairs

Melanie Lutenbacher, PhD, MSN, APRN, FAAN
Associate Professor of Nursing
Associate Professor of Medicine (Pediatrics)
School of Nursing

Bradley A. Malin, PhD
Assistant Professor
Biomedical Informatics Department 

William Martinez, MD, MS
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Division of General

Stuart McGrane, MD, MSCI
Assistant Professor of Clinical Anesthesiology
Anesthesiology-Division of Critical Care Medicine


Russell M. McIntire, PhD
Associate Dean, College of Arts & Science
Senior Lecturer, Philosophy
A & S Dean´s Office

Walter H. Merrill, MD
Chief of Staff, Vanderbilt University Hospital
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Jonathan M. Metzl, MD, PhD
Frederick B. Rentschler II Professor of Sociology and Medicine, Health, and Society
Director, Program in Med, Health and Society
Professor of Psychiatry
Center for Medicine, Health, and Society

Bonnie M. Miller, MD
Senior Associate Dean for the Office of Health Sciences Education
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

Madhumita Murphy, MD, MSCI
Assistant Professor 
Division of Pediatrics

Michael N. Neuss, MD
Chief Medical Officer
Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center
Hematology/Oncology Division

Paul A. Newhouse, MD
Jim Turner Chair in Cognitive Disorders
Professor of Psychiatry
Professor of Medicine
Professor of Pharmacology
Department of Psychiatry

Stephen E. Nicolson, MD
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
Department of Psychiatry

Linda Norman, DSN, RN, FAAN
Senior Associate Dean for Academics
Valere Potter Menefee Professor of Nursing
Vanderbilt University School of Nursing

Lesley Omary, MD
Assistant Professor of Clinical Psychiatry
Transplant Center

Chandra Y. Osborn, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Medicine & Biomedical Informatics
General Internal Medicine and Public Health

Allan Peetz, MD
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

JuLeigh Petty, PhD
Senior Lecturer Assistant Director, MHS
Director of Graduate

James W. Pichert, PhD
Professor of Medical Education and Administration
Co-Director, Center for Patient & Professional Advocacy

Dan Roden, MD
Professor of Medicine & Pharmacology
Director, Oates Institute for Experimental Therapeutics
Assistant Vice Chancellor Personalized Medicine
Clinical Pharmacology Division/Medicine

Samuel T. Rosenbloom, MD
Associate Professor
Biomedical Informatics Department

Russell L. Rothman, MD, MPP
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine and Pediatrics
Chief, Internal Medicine & Pediatrics Section
Director, Center for Health Services Research
General Internal Medicine and Public Health

John S. Sergent, MD
Professor of Medicine
Vice Chair for Education
Director, Medicine Residency Program
Department of Medicine

Laura Stark, PhD
Assistant Professor
Affiliated Professor of History
Medicine, Health, and Society

David G. Stevenson, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Health Policy

Sarah Suiter, PhD
Assistant Professor of the Practice 
Director, Master´s Program in Community
Development & Action

Warren Taylor, MD
Associate Professor of Clinical Psychiatry
Department of Psychiatry

Arleen M. Tuchman, PhD
History Department

Sara L. Van Driest, MD, PhD
Clinical Instructor in Pediatrics
Division of General Pediatrics

Jan Van Eys, MD, PhD
Clinical Professor of Pediatrics, Emeritus 
Emeritus Medical Faculty Office

Laura L. Wayman, MD
Assistant Professor
Director of Resident Education
Vice Chair for Education
Vanderbilt Eye Institute

Lynn Webb, PhD
Assistant Dean for Faculty Development
Medical School Office of the Dean

Consuelo H. Wilkins, MD, MSCI
Executive Director, Meharry-Vanderbilt Alliance
Associate Professor of Medicine
General Internal Medicine and Public Health
Biomedical Sciences Building

Keith Wrenn, MD
Vice-Chair Department of Emergency Medicine
Residency Program Director
Emergency Medicine Department