Skip to Content

The Institute for Medicine and Public Health

Asthma Research Center

Things You May Not Know About Us

Kaitlin Costello, B.A., lived at the Homestead located on a remote part of Dennison University's property during her undergraduate education.  She and her 11 cabin-mates used and maintained well water and solar power systems, kept chickens, grew gardens, built an Earthship style cabin, and chopped firewood to fuel a wood burning stove and provide heat in all the cabins. She is currently accepting applications for her zombie apocalypse.

Emma Larkin, Ph.D., was born in the Phillipines and had a chicken on her head that wouldn't get off.

Christian Rosas-Salasar, M.D., M.P.H., dives with sharks.

Cosby Stone's, M.D., M.P.H., uncle built one of the largest tree houses in the world in Crossville, Tennessee.

Kim Woodward, R.N., B.S.N., C.C.R.P., is a Southern girl born in Nebraska.


Back Home   

Center News

Paul Moore, MD, was recently featured in article for the April 8th issue of the VUMC Reporter for his continual dedication to his work as a physician and leading pulmonary specialist. Pulmonologist Moore always strives to bring his 'A game

Tina Hartert, MD, MPH, was the inaugural recipient of the Excellence in Mentoring Translational Scientists Award. This award recognizes exceptional mentorship as demonstrated by time dedicated to mentoring, guidance of mentees, structured approaches to supporting mentees, and the career trajectories of those mentored. New awards honor contributions to translational research at VUMC

Christian Rosas-Salazar, MD, MPH, received the Katherine Dodd Faculty Scholars Award 2014-2016 for his research project: Urine Clara Cell 16-kDa Secretory Protein and Childhood Asthma after Lower Respiratory Tract Infections in Infancy. Mentor: Tina Hartert M.D., M.P.H. The Katherine Dodd Faculty Scholars Program

Tina Hartert, MD, MPH, named to Lulu H. Owen Chair in Medicine. Dr. Hartert was recently recognized by Vanderbilt University for her extraordinary academic achievements in a celebration to honor faculty members who have been named to endowed chairs. Celebration honors nine new faculty chair holders

Patricia (Cookie) Minton, RN, AE-C, CCRP, Research Nurse Specialist IV in the Division of Allergy, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, received the Vivien Thomas Award for Excellence in Clinical Research. Awards honor dedicated efforts of research staff

See older posts